Sustaining Tension

This week the new RCA Today magazine came out.  In it is a short article I wrote about generating and sustaining creative tension.  All of this comes from the Ridder Transformational Process that I have been a part of for the last three and half years.

This takes courage. It takes courage to purposefully create tension. It takes courage to intentionally rock the boat. It takes courage to accurately and truthfully reflect current reality to people who may not want to see it. For me personally, it takes courage because I have to face into my fears of failing, not being competent, and wanting to be liked. If I don’t face these fears, they will dominate what I do or don’t do. My actions will be driven not by my pursuit of Christ, but by my pursuit of protecting myself. I’m serving me.

One thought on “Sustaining Tension

  1. It does take courage. And I’m learning that it also takes wisdom. Generate to much tension and you come off like an ogre and people will either fight or flee (or some will freeze). Generate to little and nothing changes. So, learning to exercise the skill with one ear to the congregation and one ear to the Holy Spirit is so important. Thanks for posting this.

Leave a Reply

